Today I decided to be naked. I did not want any clothes; I just wanted to look at myself exactly how I was. I stared at myself for hours in my full length mirrors plastered on every wall, contorting my body in every angle possible.

I forced myself to look at every bump, scar, roll, blemish and every other imperfection, while I fixated my face in every frowning position I could think of. I complained that my body is not like it used to be, how far I let myself go, and I even complained about not losing weight fast enough to achieve my fitness goals. I started to think about every sprint I chose to walk or jog instead, every calorie past my daily intake I indulged in that I should have passed up, and every failed diet or weight loss attempt aborted.

Then it all came to me, that I was bigger than all of this. I was even better than what I could have even imagined. As I continued to gaze into the mirror scrutinizing all my imperfections, I begin to see a woman who has lived a full life and may have gained some scars and weight along the way, but is here to fight her way towards achieving her personal and fitness goals. As for all my failed diets, setbacks and flashbacks of a thinner me, those days are history! There is no  need to dwell on a past I can’t change.

 As I continued to stand there naked as the day I was born, gazing into those same mirrors, I realized that it was not my outside that needed the major improvements, but it was the naked emptiness inside of me that needed to be addressed. I can always find a great girdle for my gut, concealer to cover up blemishes on my face, and wear dark colors to camouflage my size, but there are no quick fixes and masks for what’s going on internally.

Once again, I forced myself to look at myself naked and say at least three things I loved about me, right now, without any additional changes. I owed it to myself to pay myself a compliment. I owed it to the mirror that I stood in front of for hours to obliterate the negative energy that I had cast onto it.

I said to myself, “You have some hot legs Missy! I am starting to see that waistline coming in… and oh!! You have the prettiest eyes and smile, just breathtaking! You Go Girl!” After that, a single tear dripped from my right eye, and from that moment on, I realized that I had crossed over the point of no return. I had  defeated my biggest enemy, which was myself.

 I am no longer ashamed of who I am or where I am in life, because I am a work in progress committed to change. I will no longer apologize for being bold, because my heart bleeds for the need to express myself and make my mark in this world. I can love me fully, because I accept me for who I am today; although, I am working on a better me for tomorrow.

Just to think, I figured this all out today, just because I decided to be naked. I encourage everyone to get naked with your thoughts, emotions, and motives for embarking on this journey. You may not like what you are looking at initially, but the beautiful you lies within and is waiting to pop out! So what are you waiting for??? Find your mirror and GET NAKED!

