Why do we punish ourselves so harshly when it comes to weight loss? Why are we so quick to knock ourselves down when the scale does not tip as far to the left as we would like?

We punish ourselves by calling in the S.W.A.T. [Stressing Weight at All Times] team enforcers, who arrest us from our seemingly aimless fitness goals. I admit, I am one of the leading S.W.A.T. team ambush soldiers in my own fitness fiasco. As a matter of fact, I am the general! When things don’t go right with my weight loss plan I am ready to attack, lock and load on my progress and blow up at the scarcely moving scale.

However, I had to ask myself this question, “How many times am I going to allow myself to get knocked down by letting the scale be the authority of my life?”

When I first started this challenge I was constantly hopping on the scale expecting big numbers to plummet from my waistline, but to no avail, I would see a pound or two here, a decrease in body fat there, but nothing so dramatic that I could say it happened over night.

My best suggestion to anyone working towards a fitness goal like myself is to take it one day at a time, continue to eat the right things, keep up regular exercise activities, and work on maintaining a more balanced lifestyle.

This weight loss experience for me has truly been all about the journey. It has not been easy for me by any stretch of the imagination. I’ve had to constantly reevaluate my goals and redirect my focus. There have been several times that I felt like I reached my plateau or loss motivation at that moment.

I encourage you today to not let the scale hold you captive and stop you from achieving your fitness goals; rather, use the scale as a gage to track milestones.

One day you will wake up throw on a pair of old jeans and they will drop to the floor, completely missing your waist as you stand in shock and amazement!

Do yourself a favor, call off the S.W.A.T. team and boost up your swag no matter what size you are now. Keep pushing! You can do it!

